Cable Mills Residences
Finegold Alexander’s design transformed the General Cable Mill complex into a vibrant residential community. Built in 1873, General Cable Mill manufactured twine; and in later years, wire and cable. Over time, the mill complex became an abandoned ruin consisting of 15 buildings, eight of which were chosen for renovation. Selective demolition allowed for a coherent arrival sequence, green spaces and vehicular and pedestrian circulation to support the development. Finegold Alexander designed interior space plans for 61 housing units—13 of them designated affordable—which utilize highly sustainable, energy efficient and eco-friendly systems and materials.
"This project adds a new level of vitality to this end of Water Street… This is a beautiful place. They've done a beautiful job here."
Jason Hoch, Town Manager of Williamstown, in public remarks at opening ceremony for Cable Mills
The $26 million, 61-unit renovation included preservation of the historical integrity of the exterior brick and 20 types and sizes of windows across the three buildings. Attention to detail in restoration ensured its place on the National Register of Historic Places.
"The project spanned 13 years, 3 development teams, 2 Town Managers, and included multiple Williamstown community and Town stakeholder groups, local, state, and national historic agencies, designers, engineers and contractors to complete the project. Typically, a project like this would only take a few years to complete but our team navigated unusual circumstances and encouraged the exceptional dedication of many people who ensured the vision was realized."